Rugby World Cup – The Game, The History So Far

RWC History
RWC History

Rugby is a men’s game which is played for exactly eighty minutes with two forty minutes halves and a break of ten minutes in between.

Each rugby team consist of 15 players. The team is split into two groups known as forwards and backs. There are 8 forwards (positions include Hooker, Prop, Second Row, Flanker and Number Eight) and 7 backs (positions include Scrum Half, Fly Half, Inside Centre, Outside Centre, Wingers and a Full Back).

Watch Rugby World Cup Live Streaming in NewZealand via Pure VPN

The pitch is split up into three sections; one main playing area which must not exceed 100 metres and two dead goal areas which can range from 10 to 20 m. The pitch must then be equal to 70 metres wide. The goal posts are in an ‘H’ shape and are roughly 5 to 6 meters apart with no restrictions on height.

As far as accessories to be worn, studded boots can be worn along with gum shields, head guards, shoulder pads and shin pads. Each team must wear the same coloured jerseys with matching shorts and socks.

Scoring points against the other team is the main objective and the result may be a win or a draw.

Rugby is considered among the top ten sports in the world that are having the highest no of enhusiastic viewers.

Rules of the Game

There are 15 players in the game and up to 7 substitutes. Players are only allowed to return if they have been treated for an injury who leave the game. The field must be 100 metres long and 70 metres wide with a minimum of a 10 metre dead ball area. The H shaped goal needs to be 6 metres wide with no restrictions on height.

The field consist of the following markings; half way line, 5 metre line, 22 metre line, 10 metre line and dead ball line. Also included is a centre spot for restarting the game after a try, penalty or drop goal has been scored. The game must have one referee and two touch judges. It’s the referee’s job to time keep, make decisions throughout the game and keep order on the field.

The two touch judges can assist the referee with decisions and also notify the referee when players are in touch (out of playing boundaries). The game will stop if a player is fouled, the ball goes out of play or a try or drop goal is scored.

The defending team must tackle a player by grabbing a hold and pulling them to the floor. A tackle cannot be made above shoulder height and doing so will cause the referee to award a foul. Once the ball goes into touch a line out is called. Up to 7 players can enter a line out and any of these players can be lifted in order to catch the ball being thrown in. Both teams can compete to win the ball. A successful conversion, penalty or kick at goal only occurs when the player manages to kick the ball through the top section of the goal.

If a player is unsuccessful the ball is still in play until it crosses one of the playing fields boundaries. Attacking players must remain behind the ball whilst active or run the risk of being called offside. Players not interfering with play can be in front of ball but must get back behind the ball before then again interfering with play.

History – Rugby World Cup

The first Rugby World Cup was played in the year 1987 that was jointly hosted by Australia and Newzealand. Though the game has been played since 18th century and favourite among nations, the first of its kind rugby tournament was played in 1883 which was called Home nations Championship which was initially played between four countries and gradually expanded to six which later was called Six Nations Cup.

The playing of a World Cup Rugby was a idea since long but denied many times and finally implemented after the delegates from participating nation voted in the favour of World Cup with a few voting against. In the first Rugby World Cup in 1983, sixteen nations participated.

New Zealand was the first country to get the World Cup Rugby defeated France. In the last Rugby world Cup, New Zealand agains won the championship by defeating its archrival Australia and thus is the only country with Three titles of Rugby World Cup. The trophy that is awarded to winner is known as Web Ellis Cup after the William Webb Ellis.

New Zealand has won the maximum no. of titles with the first in 1987 and last two World Cups in 2011 and 2015. Australia and South Africa have both won the title twice while England has been able to made to the coveted Web Ellis Cup only once in the year 2003 so far in the Rugby World Cup history.

See the list of RWC 2019 broadcasters rights and TV channels, who provide the RWC 2019 all 48 matches live streaming.

Watch RWC 2019 Live Scores at home and enjoy the full game via VPN without any disturbance online free .

RWC 2019 Live Streaming